39 Pieces of Advice to My Younger Self

Or a letter to my daughters

Srey Khoy
5 min readApr 10, 2021

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

It’s three in the morning in California, and today I’m thirty-nine. This is also my first post on Medium. After being a member for a year, I’m definitely late to the party. I was so reluctant to share my words, but I promised myself in January I would get out of my own way, so here I am.

I’m sure my younger self would roll her eyes at me because she thinks she knows everything, but I know she’d read this and secretly keep this list tucked away in her journal.

This seemed a fitting end to my 30s, and strange as it sounds, I’m looking forward to turning forty. However, before I get ahead of myself, here’s my list to my younger self:

  1. Finish your story. You’re the only one who can do this. Sometimes the plot twists may prevent you from turning the next page, but you have to keep reading to find out the ending.
  2. Take care of your body, and it will take care of you. I promise you’ll enjoy exercise once you get over the initial weeks of soreness.
  3. Sunscreen is your best friend. And let me add: wear sunglasses as well.
  4. Delayed gratification is a superpower. Learn it for yourself so you can teach it to your children.
  5. Developing good habits for your mind, body, and

--

--

Srey Khoy

Mom of 4. Trying to be better by 1% every day. I talk about health, self-development, parenting, and relationships.